IPL Abbreviation | Indian Premier League Full-Form | Latest Update—2021

IPL Abbreviation | Indian Premier League Full-Form | Latest Update—2021

Indian Premier League (IPL) refers to a professional league for the Twenty20 cricket championship in India. The inaugural edition of IPL was launched by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on April 18th, 2008. Since then the tournament has been continuously held every year across various venues in India and abroad. IPL 2008 was won by Rajasthan Royals.

Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have won the tournament a maximum number of times. MI and CSK won it four times and three times respectively. IPL follows a unique format under which each IPL team can appoint not more than four-star overseas players in their team while the remaining seven players must be Indians.

How Many Teams Participate In IPL

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Delhi Capitals (DC)

A total of 8 teams participate in this tournament. Each of the teams plays 16 games each. Two teams with maximum points move into the Play-Offs.

[Read more: What is the Full form of COMPUTER?]

Which Teams Won IPL Tournaments?

2020    Mumbai Indians

2019    Mumbai Indians

2018    Chennai Super Kings

2017    Mumbai Indians

2016    Sunrisers Hyderabad

2015    Mumbai Indians

2014    Kolkata Knight Riders

2013    Mumbai Indians

2012    Kolkata Knight Riders

2011    Chennai Super Kings

2010    Chennai Super Kings

2009    Deccan Chargers

2008    Rajasthan Royals

[Read more: What is MBBS Full Form? | Latest Updates 2021]

IPL Rules For Players

A total of 16 players should be in each team out of which the final 11 will be selected before the match.

Not more than four overseas cricketers can be in the playing XI squad.

Only Under-19 players who have already played List A matches can be included in the team.

Each IPL player gets selected through IPL Auction (open bidding system) on the basis of their Base Price.

The Conclusion

The primary purpose behind the launch of IPL was to give India’s domestic cricket a big push. Many Indian domestic cricketers who weren’t getting enough opportunities to showcase their skills and talents found IPL as the right platform to display their talents.

Some of the well-known cricketers who got into the Indian national team because of their stupendous performance at IPL are Ambati Rayudu, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, T Natrajan, and many more.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

What is the full form of IPL in sports?

Indian Premier League, Indonesian Premier League, Iran Pro League, and Israeli Premier League.

What does IPL mean in computing?

In computing, IPL means Initial Program Load. It refers to the process of how the operating system of a PC starts when we switch on our system.

When will the IPL 2021 be launched?

According to the latest news reports and media sources, the Indian Premier League—2021 or IPL14 is likely to be held within the next couple of months. Though there is no update on the IPL tournament schedule, it is expected to take place anytime in September or October.

Will IPL 2021 be held in India

No. Media sources have quoted that IPL 2021 is likely to be held in the UAE. All IPL players and staff will be staying at a special bio bubble for their safety and wellbeing.

Tech Crazee

Kumar Swamy founder of Tech Crazee and I have more than 8 years of experience in digital marketing. I have gained knowledge of different strategies in digital marketing to boost website traffic and reputation. I am also interested in blogging and started this website to write articles on technology. I am interested to show something new to my readers. And I always help people who are seeking knowledge of digital marketing. Contact me for any information about digital marketing.